Service Transition

Successful application outsourcing with cellent

“You are facing the challenge of outsourcing operational and maintenance costs to a new IT provider. How can you manage this without affecting on-going business?“

We have many years of experience in application outsourcing and are aware of the recurring risks in transferring services to a new provider environment. It is important for us not simply to react to risks but rather to proactively identify risks and work together with you to handle them.

“The knowledge about how to operate, maintain and further develop applications nowadays is held by fewer employees, some of whom are external employees. How can this knowledge be transferred and guaranteed in the long-term?”

We are aware that knowledge transfer relating to services, applications and technologies is a critical path towards any transition. Above all, we make an effort to document and make available the knowledge gained during the service transition. In doing so, we create long-term added value for your company.

“The internal employees in the IT and technical departments should primarily pursue their core tasks. How can the service transition be performed with the lowest level of effort on the part of internal employees?“

Our transition method focuses on limiting the expense for the transition to what is absolutely necessary and keeping it as low as possible for you. That means efficient control of critical resources for the performance of the knowledge transfer. In order to complete the transition successfully and in a high-quality way, we subject the agreed results to regular quality assurance.

“The IT organisation is as complex as the IT landscape itself and consists of many internal and external service providers. How can the service transition help to create and end-to-end view of services?”

For us, an end-to-end view means coordinated cooperation between all service providers within the performance of services. To us, that means making the service transition a central task in establishing a shared service organisation.

The cellent procedural model for a successful service transition

Transfers of services in cellent service management are implemented as part of a transition. For this purpose, we have developed a comprehensive procedural model, which transfers services for maintenance and operation from a customer environment into cellent service management in a methodical and structured way.

The model was developed. The methods and tools used support efficient planning and performance of the transition. The procedural model is based on the expectations of clients for professional and low-risk transition management.

Our procedural model brings together significant competence in service and project management. In this process, we use methods (e.g. ITIL, PRINCE2, PMI) of service and project management for the drafting and implementation of the operational organisation and processes that are being aimed for.

As a result of our experience in outsourcing, we are aware of the central challenges of relocations and support our clients throughout the entire process of service transition. We adapt the ITIL-based standards flexibly to customer-specific requirements.

Central areas of activity in service transition

cellent Service Transition

Our procedural model addresses the central areas of activity for a successful transfer from an existing operational organisation into service management for which cellent is responsible.

In an initial step, we plan the service transition with you. We make concrete the scope of services, define the project results for operational readiness and agree on the functions for the control and monitoring of the service transition.

Following the planning, we will identify the scope of services in operation and maintenance and the specifics of the application as a basis for the planning of the knowledge transfer. The knowledge transfer plan will be accompanied by quality gates for the measuring of progress and quality as a basis for approvals and final operational readiness.

Parallel to the performance of the knowledge transfers, structures and processes for future service management are coordinated.

We develop the shared operational organisation and the operational processes relevant to cooperation, taking into account legal requirements and internal company guidelines (e.g. temporary employment, data protection).

Service Transition

Erfolgreiches Application Outsourcing mit cellent

Risiko

„Sie stehen vor der Herausforderung, Betriebs- und Wartungsaufgaben an einen neuen IT-Provider auszulagern. Wie ist dies zu bewerkstelligen, ohne das laufende Geschäft zu tangieren?“

Wir verfügen über langjährige Erfahrung im Application Outsourcing und kennen die immer wiederkehrenden Risiken in der Überleitung von Services in eine neue Providerumgebung. Uns ist wichtig, nicht nur auf Risiken zu reagieren, sondern proaktiv potentielle Risiken zu identifizieren und gemeinsam mit Ihnen zu agieren.

Wissenstransfer

„Das Wissen zu Betrieb, Wartung und Weiterentwicklung von Applikationen befindet sich heute in den Köpfen weniger und zum Teil externer Mitarbeiter. Wie kann das Wissen überführt und langfristig gewahrt werden?“

Uns ist bewusst, dass der Wissenstransfer bezüglich Services, Applikationen, Prozessen und Technologien der kritische Pfad einer jeden Transition ist. Vor allem aber kümmern wir uns darum, das während des Serviceübergangs erworbene Wissen zu dokumentieren und verfügbar zu machen. Damit schaffen wir einen nachhaltigen Mehrwert für Ihr Unternehmen.

Service Transition

„Die internen Mitarbeiter des IT-Bereichs und der Fachabteilungen sollen primär ihren Kernaufgaben nachgehen. Wie ist es zu schaffen, dass die Service Transition mit möglichst geringem Aufwand interner Mitarbeiter erfolgt?“

Unsere Transition-Methode ist darauf ausgerichtet, den Aufwand für die Transition auf das Notwendige zu begrenzen und für Sie gering zu halten. Dies bedeutet insbesondere eine effiziente Steuerung kritischer Ressourcen für die Durchführung des Knowledge-Transfers. Um die Transition erfolgreich und qualitätsvoll abzuschließen, unterziehen wir die vereinbarten Ergebnisse einer regelmäßigen Qualitätssicherung.

Zusammenarbeit

„Die IT-Organisation ist ebenso komplex wie die IT-Landschaft selbst und besteht aus vielen internen und externen Dienstleistern. Wie kann die Service Transition dabei helfen, dass die Ende-zu-Ende-Sicht der Services hergestellt wird?“

Für uns bedeutet die Ende-zu-Ende-Sicht die abgestimmte Zusammenarbeit zwischen allen Dienstleistern im Rahmen der Serviceerbringung. Das ist in unserem Sinne die zentrale Aufgabenstellung der Service Transition in der Etablierung einer gemeinsamen Serviceorganisation.

Das cellent-Vorgehensmodell für eine erfolgreiche Service Transition

Überleitungen von Serviceleistungen in ein cellent Service Management werden im Rahmen einer Transition umgesetzt. Hierzu haben wir ein ganzheitliches Vorgehensmodell entwickelt, das Services für Wartung und Betrieb aus einer Kundenumgebung methodisch in ein cellent Service Management und strukturiert überleitet.

Das Modell ist aus der Praxis entwickelt worden. Die eingesetzten Methoden und Werkzeuge unterstützen eine effiziente Planung und Durchführung der Transition. Das Vorgehensmodell orientiert sich an den Erwartungen der Kunden an ein professionelles und risikoarmes Transition Management.

Unser Vorgehensmodell vereint wesentliche Kompetenzen im Service- und Projektmanagement. Dabei werden Methoden (z. B. ITIL, PRINCE2, PMI) des Service- und Projektmanagements für den Entwurf und für die Umsetzung der angestrebten Betriebsorganisation und Prozesse eingesetzt.

Aufgrund unserer Erfahrungen im Outsourcing kennen wir die zentralen Herausforderungen von Verlagerungen und begleiten unsere Kunden über den gesamten Prozess der Service Transition. Wir adaptieren die ITIL-basierten Standards flexibel für kundenspezifische Anforderungen.  

Zentrale Handlungsfelder der Service Transition

Handlungsfelder der Service Transition

Unser Vorgehensmodell adressiert die zentralen Handlungsfelder für eine erfolgreiche Überleitung einer bestehenden Betriebsorganisation in ein von cellent verantwortetes Service Management.

Im ersten Schritt planen wir mit Ihnen die Service Transition. Wir konkretisieren den Umfang der Services, definieren die Projektergebnisse für die Betriebsbereitschaft und vereinbaren die Funktionen zur Steuerung und Überwachung der Service Transition.

Im Anschluss an die Planung identifizieren wir den Umfang von Services in Betrieb und Wartung und Applikationsspezifika als Basis für die Planung des Knowledge-Transfers. Der Knowledge-Transfer-Plan wird mit Quality-Gates für die Messung von Fortschritt und Qualität als Basis für Abnahmen und finale Betriebsbereitschaft flankiert.

Parallel zur Durchführung des Knowledge-Transfers werden Strukturen und Prozesse für das zukünftige Service Management abgestimmt.

Wir entwickeln die gemeinsame Betriebsorganisation und die für eine Zusammenarbeit relevanten Betriebsprozesse unter Berücksichtigung von gesetzlichen Vorgaben und firmeninternen Richtlinien (z. B. ANÜ, Datenschutz).